Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
virus324 MUNLY
Munly & The Lee Lewis Harlots
virus324 (2004) CD + DVD - $14.00

Had William Faulkner or Cormac McCarthy turned their creative impulses toward musical composition, the result might very well have been something akin to Munly & The Lee Lewis Harlots. Often described as, 'a thinkin' man's country music,' Munly's wide vocal range, from a low bass to a high soprano, on top of the Harlot's dark, often sensuous string arrangements make for a unique sound that remains long after the music stops. From the dirge-like despair of "Jacob Dumb," the almost frenetic ditties like "Of Silas Fauntleroy's Willingness to Impress the Panel", to what seems to be a classic, "Big Black Bull Comes Like A Caesar," the creative depth and range is at once challenging and invigorating. One can't help but have the distinct feeling that these songs were heart wrenchingly conceived and crafted. An impressive marriage of musical arrangement and instrumentation with jaw-dropping lyrical storytelling, Munly & The Lee Lewis Harlots is altogether an intoxicating, seductive musical experience.

This release comes with 2 discs, one regular audio CD and one DVD with surround sound mixes of the album in several hi-def formats including DTS, lots of still images of Munly and the Lee Lewis Harlots, complete lyrics read by Munly and more!

Munly is also the front sideman of Slim Cessna's Auto Club. This is a co-release with Smooch Records. Back in print!

"Much more sunken and skeletal in appearance than even Hank III yet manically alive, Munly (& the Lee Lewis Harlots) has been oft labeled simply "Gothic Country." Imagine the Rachels (the Quarterstick ones), the Handsome Family, Nick Cave, Bauhaus, and 16 Horsepower spending darkened hours passing around a bottle of XXX, telling languorous and remorseful spook tales before gesticulating frenetically and knocking over the lantern, thus burning down the barn. Whirls fantastically like a dervish and is as creepy and weepy as a poison sumac rash."
- Razorcake



1. "Amen Corner" (4:00)
listen to "Amen Corner"   MP3 (3.7 MB)
2. "Big Black Bull Comes Like A Caesar" (6:45)
3. "Old Service Road" (3:56)
4. "Another Song About Jesus, A Wedding Sheet, And A Bowie Knife" (5:39)
5. "Cassius Castrato The She-Male Of The Mens Prison" (5:15)
6. "Ragin' Cajun'" (4:21)
listen to "Ragin' Cajun'"   MP3 (4.0 MB)
7. "Song Rebecca Calls, 'that birdcage song', Which Never Was Though Now Kind Of Is Because Of Her Influence..." (6:13)
8. "Goose Walking Over My Grave" (5:40)
9. "The Leavening Of The Spit-Bread Girls" (3:07)
listen to "The Leavening Of The Spit-Bread Girls"   MP3 (2.9 MB)
10. "A Gentle Man's Jihad" (5:04)
11. "The Denver Boot Redux (Featuring The San Francisco All Men's Choir)" (5:37)
12. "Of Silas Fauntleroys Willingness To Influence The Panel" (3:35)
13. "Jacob Dumb" (4:41)
14. "My Second Salvation Army Choir" (5:38)
15. "River Forktine Tippecanoe" (7:28)

See more items by:
Munly & The Lupercalians

Munly & The Lupercalians

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles