Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
Gacy's Place: The Undiscovered Corpses
virus315 (2004) CD - $12.00
iTunes emusic
Of all the hotly sought-after original Killed-By-Death punk singles, few to none are as notorious - or mysterious - as the "Gacy's Place" EP by The Mentally Ill. The sleeve, the topics, the so-horrible-it's-amazing production values, that voice. Many in the know crown it the sickest punk record ever made. But there is more - much more. The "Gacy's Place" sessions yielded eight songs - only three were ever released.

A dig in the ol' crawlspace turned up even cruder earlier demos with alternate versions of the EP songs, plus over half-a-dozen others, heard only by a handful of people. A true labor of man-boy love, it took Jello Biafra years to pry this loose from the band. They kept insisting each album be housed in a 3-foot wide scale model of Gacy's house itself!

Now their affliction has subsided enough so that everyone finally has a chance to save their $200 "evil-Bay" bucks and grab a whole album's worth of mental illness before their condition comes back. "Gacy's Place: The Undiscovered Corpses" compiles all three recording sessions by The Mentally Ill: The Starbeat Sessions, The Basement Sessions and The Crawlspace Sessions for a total of 20 tracks, nearly all previously unreleased!

"I once knew a guy who said this band sounded like "clowns playing hardcore." For some, it's too much to stomach. For me, it's paradise. This band's shtick was that they all met in an insane asylum, which may very well be true. Their first and only record, "Gacy's Place," was doomed to obscurity by a limited run and obscene subject matter. Luckily, the patron Saint of the bizarre, Jello Biafra, has reissued not only the original record, but the entire recording session it came from, as well as two previously unavailable practice tapes. It's some of the most foul, offensive, and insanely good punk rock circa 1978."

- Perfect Sound Forever

"Gacy's Place: The Undiscovered Corpses is the CD re-release of the 1979 7" by Chicago's twisted punk fiends THE METALLY ILL (I sit in a Chicago hotel room as I type this, somehow fitting). It includes all eight tracks from the original recording sessions plus a gaggle of other tunes recorded in various places.

This CD is basically centered in the original eight tracks, everything else is superfluous. It is amazing that these eight tunes were recorded in 1979 because they are still lyrically pernicious and disturbed by 2004 standards. One can't help compare the depravity here to the DAYGLO ABORTIONS or CRUCIFUCKS.

Musically this is tremendously raw, just as it should be. It is somewhat reminiscent of MEDIA DISEASE or UNITED MUTATION. It should be clarified that MENTALLY ILL predated all of my references, an influence, maybe?"

- In Music We Trust

"Of all the hotly sought-after original Killed By Death punk singles, few are as notorious as the Gacy's Place EP by THE MENTALLY ILL. The sleeve, the topics, the so-horrible-it's-amazing production values, that voice. Many in the know crown it the sickest punk record ever made. Now there's even more to loath--that's right, JELLO BIAFRA has worked years to unearth a whole album's worth of pure sickness from the boys, including the three tracks that started it all."

- Revolver/Midheaven



1. "Gacy's Place" (1:28)
2. "Tumor Boy" (1:35)
listen to "Tumor Boy"   MP3 (2.2 MB)
3. "Doggie Sex" (2:00)
4. "Not Quite Dead Yet" (1:46)
listen to "Not Quite Dead Yet"   MP3 (2.4 MB)
5. "Padded Cell" (1:54)
6. "Split Crotch Straight Jacket" (1:15)
7. "All Mixed Up" (1:44)
8. "Stalag 13" (1:54)
9. "Ballad of The Mentally Ill" (2:25)
10. "Dry Heave" (2:36)
11. "Tumor Boy" (2:46)
12. "Bathroom Gaze" (1:17)
13. "Cum Twat" (2:52)
listen to "Cum Twat"   MP3 (3.9 MB)
14. "Smelly Boys" (2:35)
15. "Gacy's Place" (2:09)
16. "I Don't Need (You're Shit)" (2:57)
listen to "I Don't Need (You're Shit)"   MP3 (4.1 MB)
17. "Aryan Rock" (1:15)
18. "All Mixed Up" (2:23)
19. "Stalag 13" (2:34)
20. "Split Crotch Straight Jacket" (1:50)

The Mentally Ill

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles