Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
Come September- in Coversation with Howard Zinn
virus303 (2003) CD - $12.00

Arundhati Roy-author of Booker Prize winning novel The God of Small Things-offers her unique perspective on the U.S. "war on terrorism" as a woman born, raised, and educated in India.

With lyricism and passion, Roy contextualizes the recent invasion of Iraq with her unflinching analysis of U.S.-sponsored interventions around the globe as well as her exploration of "you're either with us or with the terrorists" brand of nationalism.

"Come September" features a fascinating and lengthly introduction by populist historian Howard Zinn. Howard Zinn also joins Roy later on the cd for a riveting discussion on the writing process and the politics of being an artist in today's tumultuous times.

Enjoyable, logical, educational, and fast-paced, "Come September" is a joy to listen to! Check out her new book, "War Talk" (book 105), also on sale on this site!

Artist Information:

Arundhati Roy is the winner of the Booker Prize for Fiction in 1997 as well as Lannan Foundation's Prize for Cultural Freedom in 2002.

Roy's novel The God of Small Things sold over a million copies.

Roy is a frequent contributor to the Guardian Unlimited UK and other progressive publications.

Salman Rushdie , author of Satanic Verses, says of Roy: "[her] polemic is necessary and important. I salute both her courage and her skill."

Three words: Woman of Color. A unique non-Western critique of world events.

Half of the CD features noted historian and author Howard Zinn, whose People's History of the United States has sold over 600,000 copies and is available through Alternative Tentacles website on cd and in book form!

Howard Zinn is a regular contributor to publications such as The Progressive who seek his opinions on current events. Not only that, but he's released a number of stellar spoken word cds on this very label!



1. "Introduction" by Howard Zinn(5:46)
2. "Dangerous Things" by Arundhati Roy(1:50)
3. "Suspicion of Nationalism" by Arundhati Roy(6:34)
4. "The World in Other Terms" by Arundhati Roy(1:14)
listen to "The World in Other Terms"   MP3 (1.1 MB)
5. "Commerce in Grief" by Arundhati Roy(7:05)
6. "Many Septembers" by Arundhati Roy(9:41)
7. "Preaching Peace While Waging War" by Arundhati Roy(5:55)
listen to "Preaching Peace While Waging War"   MP3 (5.4 MB)
8. "Business of War" by Arundhati Roy(4:53)
listen to "Business of War"   MP3 (4.5 MB)
9. "Power Has a Shelf Life" by Arundhati Roy(8:48)
10. "(with Howard Zinn) Speaking Out" by Arundhati Roy(4:04)
11. "(with Howard Zinn) Growing Up Political" by Arundhati Roy(2:08)
12. "(with Howard Zinn) "That Woman"" by Arundhati Roy(2:02)
listen to "(with Howard Zinn) "That Woman""   MP3 (1.9 MB)
13. "(with Howard Zinn) Caste and Class" by Arundhati Roy(5:05)
listen to "(with Howard Zinn) Caste and Class"   MP3 (4.6 MB)
14. "(with Howard Zinn) Contempt of Court" by Arundhati Roy(4:32)
15. "(with Howard Zinn) Opposite of a Nuclear Bomb" by Arundhati Roy(4:21)
listen to "(with Howard Zinn) Opposite of a Nuclear Bomb"   MP3 (4.0 MB)
16. "(with Howard Zinn) Never Look Away" by Arundhati Roy(4:39)

See more items by:
Howard Zinn

Howard Zinn

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles