Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
virus124 CHILL E.B.
Born Suspicious
virus124 (1994) 12"EP - $9.00 | CD - $12.00
Rap on A.T.? You bet! Our only hip-hop release to date features the street-wise savvy star of Sega's TV commercial slots. Recently returned to the music scene with even more positive hip-hop, check out where Chill E.B. started back in the early 1990s!

A classic slab of positive, socially conscious hip-hop similar to Public Enemy and local heroes like Paris and The Coup!


Here's Chill E.B.'s legendary Sega commercial from the early 1990s!

"Lately, some really great genre-blasting things have been happening at some indie labels. First SST starts putting out jazz and now Alternative Tentacles is doin' hip hop. Musically Chill E.B. isn't even in to the hard rockin side of the funk; this EP is a relatively straight-up, smooth groove joint with conscious rhymes and deep beats. The album's cover and title strikes a direct hit on racism with a picture of a black baby in a crib wearing handcuffs, and the strong messages just fly out the speakers from here on in. The intro and outro feature a radio call in-show in which a white woman tries to explain how reading "Little Black Sambo" gave her a first awareness of the fact that black people can be human. The title track has the power of the first-person experience and "Confusion" lays down a sweet rhyme about all the shit-polluting rhymes, with some beautiful back-up vocals by Deanna Dixon. Most people will be familiar with "Menace to Society" Chill E.B.'s track from the film with the same name. Unlike the thrust of the movie, Chill is all about peace and is an outspoken member of anti-drug groups. On "Censorship of the Arts" Chill puts some beats on top of a discussion group dealing with Ice-T's "Cop Killer." I'm actually quite amazed that Alternative Tentacles got the opportunity to release this great record, and thank God they jumped at the chance."
- Exclaim



1. "Born Suspicious" (2:50)
2. "Confusion" (2:40)
3. "Censorship Of The Arts" (5:19)
4. "Welcome To Chill Town" (3:59)
5. "Menace To Society" (4:36)
6. "My Time To Climb" (5:46)
7. "Bonus Track" (3:42)
8. "Bonus Track" (3:27)

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles