Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
Enjoyable Songs
virus228 (1999) CD - $12.00 | LP - $12.00
Tell Grandma to put her teeth in. It's time to have a party. Pop music at its most basic and expressive from the leader of Half Japanese Jad Fair!(CD features 15 extra tracks)

Jad Fair has been a veteran songwriter for over 2 decades and has influenced more bands through his solo work, as Half Japanese or through his collaborations with other bands than could be listed on this piece of paper.

Jad enjoys working with the best (Daniel Johnston, Teenage Fanclub, The Pastels, David Fair, Kramer, Naofumi Ishimaru, DQE, and the Shapir-O' Rama)- hence his decision to record with Jason Willett.

Jad met Jason 10 years ago, and soon thereafter asked him to play bass guitar on a tour with Half Japanese. Other bands and musicians Jason has played with include The Ruins, James Chance, The Pleasant Livers, The Jaunties and X Ray Eyes.

The difference between this album and other Jad projects is the amount of time spent on it. But it's not just the amount of time spent on it; you could lock most bands up in a studio for 20 years and not get anything close to the artistic vision and grandeur of these songs. Jad and Jason have recorded over 1,000 songs together over the past few years and have picked out the winners for 'Enjoyable Songs.'

This is pop music in the most basic definition in that it is made to be enjoyed. Jad Fair is at his most wild, expressive and innovative self, like you've never heard. Jason Willett, passionately driven with utter abandon, unintentionally creating new musical genres. Jad and Jason have an amazing chemistry and electricity that's like a roller coaster, or a volcano, or popcorn, or an exorcism, or cotton candy. All songs were recorded between '96 and '98 at Jason's Megaphone Studio in Baltimore in temperatures ranging from 100F to 0F.



1. "Sticky Cotton Candy Dress" (1:27)
2. "Roll Johnny Roll" (2:26)
3. "Olive" (3:45)
4. "Valerie" (3:14)
5. "Tabatha" (1:35)
6. "Damage Done" (1:53)
7. "Enjoy the Morning" (2:51)
listen to "Enjoy the Morning"   MP3 (2.6 MB)
8. "The Mummy" (2:19)
9. "You Can Do It If You Try" (1:49)
10. "Big Boots" (2:10)
11. "Robot vs the Aztec Mummy" (2:14)
12. "Insatiable" (3:28)
13. "Lemondrops and Gumdrops" (1:07)
14. "Students of the Take" (1:51)
15. "The Beast with a Million Eyes" (2:43)
16. "Sweet Honey" (1:28)
17. "I Dig This Mess" (2:26)
18. "Wild Andrea" (1:50)
19. "Eat That Cake" (1:12)
listen to "Eat That Cake"   MP3 (1.1 MB)
20. "Natalie" (2:58)
21. "They Could be Vampires" (1:56)
22. "Stand Up" (0:59)
23. "Bernadette" (2:36)
24. "Invisible Ray" (1:26)
25. "Sally" (3:23)
26. "Ask Me About Vampires" (3:08)
27. "Hand Me the Lotion" (1:52)
28. "Sweet Valentine" (2:00)
29. "Welcome to the Night" (0:59)
30. "Lovely Linda" (1:49)
31. "Amelia" (2:11)
32. "You Name This Song" (2:30)
listen to "You Name This Song"   MP3 (2.3 MB)
33. "Tony to Shirley" (2:25)
34. "Animal Orchestra" (1:51)
35. "On the Town" (2:43)
listen to "On the Town"   MP3 (2.5 MB)

See more items by:
Jad Fair
Jad Fair & Jason Willett
Half Japanese
Jason Willett

Jad Fair & Jason Willett
Half Japanese

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles