Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
virus458 ULTRA BIDé
virus458 (2013) LP + DOWNLOAD - $12.00 | CD - $12.00

Straight up skull-shattering is what comes to mind when hearing Japanese noisesters Ultra Bidé. They're hyper-energetic and relentless, without ever taking themselves too seriously to have fun on their first US record in over 10 years! The trio's dual bass and drum attack is a monster that pounds you ever so thick and creamy, into a custard donut cooked by Satan. Led by singer/bassist Hide, Ultra Bidé will guide you across the complicated galaxy of DNA vs. DNA-c, and you're not always sure you will survive the voyage.

Equally psychedelic as it is primal and fuzzy punk rock, the album is menacing and confident, and Hide is the sort of leader required for this perilous journey. Without becoming completely obliterated by the massive blackness of outer space, Ultra Bidé heads directly toward the stratosphere.

After returning to Japan a decade ago- after being based in NYC for much of the 1990s- Hide & his band have been honing their razor sharp sonic weapons. Hide's vocals drive the insane dragster that is Ultra Bidé far past the super sonic barrier. These guys have been doing it since 1978 and show no signs of slowing down.

"Ultra Bidé = UNSANE + Halo of Flies + Sonic Youth
Ultra Bidé have long been a source of aggressive music that could be described as noise rock mixed with artsy post-hardcore. They're a first wave punk band, having surfaced in Japan in the late '70s. It's been over a decade since their last full-length record, so this 11-track disc is a welcomed treat- and they come out swinging. The title track showcases the group's dual bass and drums combination beautifully. At times, the record has a bit of a 1980s radio feel to it-but only if you were listening to skull-shattering music in the 1980s. Other tracks, like "Phase is Massive Power Attack Weapon," give off the vibe that the world is coming to an end and that mechanized, modulating bass notes are our only defense. The only drawback is that all 11 songs barely break the half-hour mark. I was sad that it ended so quickly, but I enjoyed the ride."
- Slug Magazine

"I know this band's name, but after more than three decades in the game, this new slab is the first time I've jammed them into my ears. Or maybe I should say "jabbed" them. Cacophonous and chaotic art/noise punk that manages to make truly advanced and calculated music sound urgent and primitive. "Sonic Crash" hints at dancey post-punk, and "Anarchy In Her Eyes" follows it up with an almost melodic punk base twisted into a psychedelic mess. I think that ULTRA BIDE get lumped in with the noise rock scene, but these sounds are far too advanced to be contained by a simple pigeonhole. So many layers, it's going to take a while for this one to sink in... and shame on my for waiting this long to discover a new (old) band!"
- Maximumrocknroll



1. "DNA Vs DNA-c" (3:05)
2. "Alabama Bomb" (2:54)
3. "Pan to WOW" (0:16)
4. "Sonic Crash" (2:08)
5. "Anarchy In Your Eyes" (2:09)
6. "She's So Difficult" (3:55)
7. "Civil Action" (3:59)
8. "21st Century Nuclear" (2:45)
9. "Phase Is Massive Power Attack Weapon" (1:23)
10. "Front Line" (2:54)
11. "Look You Up" (5:26)

See more items by:
Ultra Bidé

Ultra Bidé

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles