Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
Ready! Get! Go!
virus460 (2013) LP + DOWNLOAD - $12.00 | CD - $12.00
iTunes amazon eMusic spotify

"Ready! Get! Go!" is brand new recordings of unreleased Shaggs songs and new classics written by Dot Wiggin and her band!

The Shaggs' "Philosophy of the World" quietly debuted 44 years ago and eventually became the crown jewel for outsider music fans because of its charming and discordant pop songs. Now, the Shaggs' singer and songwriter, Dot Wiggin is back to break the silence and share her uncommonly cute, uncanny music on her 1st ever solo album! Frank Zappa said the Shaggs were "better than the Beatles" and Kurt Cobain regarded them as "so obviously the real thing."

The Dot Wiggin Band retains some Shaggs-ish character, without missing a beat or trying to recreate what once was. The band is better at their instruments than Dot's sisters were but retain the original crude allure that made the Shaggs so special. This record varies from raw punkish indie to pretty virginal melodies.

Dot's whimsical lyrics are simple but haunting, without ever becoming formulaic or gimmicky. Her peculiar, sweet voice rolls along the different musical styles surprisingly well, tying "Ready! Get! Go!" together. It is exactly what one wants to hear after a 44 year musical hiatus - something reminiscent of the Shaggs, but refreshingly matured.

The CD & LP come with liner notes by Dot Wiggin herself as well as bandmate Jesse Krakow, along with photos, flyers, and lyrics so you can sing along around the campfire. The unforgettable front and back covers are by Jad Fair!

It may have been 44 years since Dot's last record but 2013 is the year of Dot Wiggin!

"When I first heard Dot's songs with the Shaggs, my first instinct was that the world needed to hear it. I was in a position to do something about it. And that is just what happened. I have always encouraged her to do more. I am delighted to hear that Dot Wiggin has decided to continue sharing her unique music with the world."
- Terry Adams- founder, driving force, and 'untamed genius of the keyboards' for NRBQ since its inception more than 40 years ago.

"Born in the late '60s out of a freaky combination of rock'n'roll, puberty, small town solipsism and a delusional dad, the three sisters that comprised the SHAGGS never quite gained the notoriety their grandmother's psychic predicted they would. However, with a little help from the likes of fans such as FRANK ZAPPA, the group gained a cult following in the '70s and the SHAGGS have alternately beguiled and repelled listeners with their heartfelt squawking and meandering melodies ever since. Forty-odd years later, DOT WIGGIN is back in the studio with some new songs new recordings of previously unreleased SHAGGS material and a SKEETER DAVIS cover! She's got a new band, too, with professional musicians from bands like SHUDDER TO THINK and MOBY GRAPE backing her up this time. So the sound's rounded out a bit and the sisters are gone, but it's still got that uncanny, tender Wiggin charm!"
- Maximumrocknroll

"Dot Wiggin Band = The Shaggs + Jad Fair - Frank Zappa
It's a time of musical reunions, but this is perhaps the least likely of them all: In 1969 the Wiggin sisters of Fremont, NH-The Shaggs-released their album Philosophy of the World to an, uh, unsuspecting world. It didn't exactly take the world by storm, with its eccentric lyrics, off-kilter melodies and inept performance, but people like Frank Zappa enjoyed it (as later would Kurt Cobain), and the group had a minor hit with "My Pal Foot Foot." Remaining sister Dot Wiggin has a new band with Shaggs songs that weren't recorded before, with surprisingly danceable tunes like "Banana Bike" and "Speed Limit 2" and a cover of Skeeter Davis' "End of the World." Without this kind of stuff by the original outsider band, you wonder if someone like Daniel Johnston would've been possible, and it's fitting that this is on the label of Jello Biafra, who discovered Wesley Willis."
- Slug Magazine

"...Ready! Get! Go! is a great album. Wiggin gets backing from people who can play. ...If you're a Shaggs fan, you probably already own this album. If you're on the fence about picking it up, rest assured: this is another great album by Dot Wiggin that captures the uniqueness of her songwriting, done with great understanding and support by the band and the label."



1. "Banana Bike" (2:08)
2. "The Fella With a Happy Heart" (2:43)
3. "Speed Limit" (2:16)
4. "If I Could Be Your Hero" (2:57)
5. "Love At First Sight" (2:53)
6. "Your Best Friend" (3:45)
7. "Boo Hoo" (3:32)
8. "Eh" (2:58)
9. "My Cutie" (2:25)
10. "Speed Limit 2" (3:13)
11. "Wiggin Out!" (1:38)
12. "Just Another Crazy Day At the Farm" (4:00)
13. "The End of the World" (3:33)

See more items by:
Jad Fair
Half Japanese

Dot Wiggin Band
Half Japanese

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles