Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
virus409 ALICE DONUT
Ten Glorious Animals
virus409 (2009) CD - $12.00 | LP - $12.00
iTunes emusic
It's Alice Donut's triumphant return to AT! Album #10 is chock full of its eclectic mixture of hard rock & post-punk! From 1986 until now, Alice Donut has always kept it off-beat and inventive.

Alice Donut's lyrics take on what they view as the perversities, odd details, and petty humiliations of life. Their lyrical subject matter focuses on topics including depravity, domestic violence, sexuality, and eggs. Add in a trombone-based version of the Pixies "Where Is My Mind" and you've got a brand new Alice Donut classic!

LP is on 180 Gram & limited to 1,000 copies!

"One of the stalwarts of true alternative and underground music have returned with a new release on their old label as Alice Donut celebrates thirty years of confusing and delighting listeners. Ten Glorious Animals will fit in quite well with any Alice Donut collection, as the band creates a challenging, funny, and multi-faceted record.
The opening "Mrs. Carradine" is a bit too meandering for my taste but "No More Room" and "Wide" reminds people of the post-punk roots of Alice Donut. "Wide" is particularly hilarious, as it recounts the story of Idaho Senator Larry Craig's encounter in a bathroom stall. "Why can't you bitches get off his back?/ He's got a wide stance, man./Time to go into biblical rehab man". Other impressive efforts include the dysfunctional love affair detailed in "Lorelei and Henry", the warm vocals of Sissi Schulmeister on "Don't I Know" and the self-deprecating "Shiloh". (Gonna get famous and rich/Got a gig with the Unsane and 7 Year Bitch) "Old Dominion" and "Prog Jenny" are two awkwardly timed, mid-tempo rock nuggets that will confound listeners with their lyrical content and musical dexterity. ("Would you prefer to die at sea all alone or be smothered by a candy striper at home?" asks Tom Antona) "The Cavalry" is a gentle piece that surrenders to an atypical rendition of the Pixies' "Where is My Mind?"
Alice Donut is not for everyone and Ten Glorious Animals stays true to their history; it is great to see a band remain committed to a sound and an unconventional approach to making music."
- Jersey Beat

"Want to know what Frank Black would sound like if he were a trombone? Alice Donut has the answer... This cover is of The Pixies' classic "Where is My Mind?" Alice Donut nailed it. The screaming guitars, the thick rhythm, the overall tone of the song were all left intact. The only thing missing was ole' Black Francis. But even Frank couldn't see this one coming. Alice Donut replaced Black's vocals with the most lively, vocal replication I've ever heard from an instrument, a trombone. With the trombone bellowing out note-for-note Black's vocal keys, the song becomes an instant classic for cover song fans.
The disc, Ten Glorious Animals, is not at all what I expected. Instead, it's sort of a light-Butthole Surfers punk episode, with lyrics ranging from the political landscape to stories about touring. It's a nice introduction to a band that really never received the attention they may have deserved.... This album has plenty to get excited about. The songs are fun, laced with wailing guitars and the raw simplicity of a band that just wants to play music because they can.
The 10 originals on Ten Glorious Animals are well worth the price of admission alone. Alice Donut puts out a solid, reserved punk sound that in 2009 could easily be compared to someone like None More Black... After 16 long years of Alice Donut never finding my playlist, they've finally made it. I've found it's never to late to fall for a cult band, and luckily for me, Alice Donut has given me lots to catch up on."
- Sonic Dissonance

"Alice Donut was a band that rode beneath my radar back in the day; I was always aware of them, and had heard them, but never really listened to them. Now with the release of Ten Glorious Animals, I am planning on remedying this, and thinking about looking back at was I missed.
Alice Donut is a bizarre mish-mash of styles, ranging from fuzzed-out punk rock, hard rock, psychedelica and a liberal dose of darkly melodramatic cabaret, and Ten Glorious Animals weaves its way from sound to discordant sound in a manner that cements its tracks, providing cohesion and elevating the album from a mere record to a work of art.
The album opens with "Mrs. Carradine," a dark plodding surreal tune that conjures up what it might have been like had Peter Murphy masked up to front the Residents. This surreal theatrical bent resurfaces later on the exquisitely bizarre "Esophagus," which drapes off-kilter lyrics about blenders, jet skis and plantains on top of perfectly swirling fuzzed-out guitars.
Beyond that, it gets hard to pin any sounds on the band, or even consistent vocal stylings. The album picks through Jesus and Mary Chain-inspired fuzzy punk on "No More Room," blasts through Nick Cave-fueled dark rock on "Shiloh," and the sassy psychedelica of "ProgJenny" can't escape the idea that it's what might have happened had Ziggy Stardust-era Bowie written the "Hurdy Gurdy Man."
Are we done referencing everywhere Alice Donut has gone with this record? Not even. "Wide" is a toned-down dirty tune with riffs straight off Sonic Youth's Sister and Sisters of Mercy-styled vocals, "Don't I Know" is dark yet upbeat blast with a post meets Seattle sound, "Old Dominion" is shades of straight-up Bauhaus with quirky instrumentations piled on for color, and "Cavalry" tastes like downtrodden acoustic glam.
The album wraps up with a cover of the Pixies' "Where Is My Mind?" and even that is a perfect piece of art, opting to replace the vocals with the characteristic "Wah Wah" of a trombone that sounds for all the world like the perfect transmogrification of Frank Black into a brass instrument.
Ten Glorious Animals is an album that touches me as a music fan, a lover of art, a fan of the bizarre and a punk rocker at the same time. It's so straightforwardly wonderful and beautifully twisted that even if it leaves you scratching your head, you'll know you heard something amazing."

"For much of the 1990's, Alice Donut was the only thing that kept Alternative Tentacles Records afloat. As lawsuits from various former members of the Dead Kennedys piles up, this was one of the few acts that actually put money back in the coffers. There was a time when they almost broke big, but the world was never quite ready for their decadent style of unfriendly music. More than a decade later, and back on Jello Biafra's San Francisco-based label, Alice Donut is once again turning heads.
This latest effort is a little tamer than their earlier work, but it still gives off their classic Mudhoney-on-acid vibe that is really difficult to describe, but even more difficult to stop humming along to. Some songs sound like classic 1960s psyche-rock and others have more of a post-punk, happy pop feel to them. The crown jewel of this disc, though, is a cover of the Pixies' "Where Is My Mind." It starts off very faithful to the original, but soon melts into a fully instrumental, troubling and heavy-handed version of the classic song. The result is twofold: we are reminded of what a good songwriter Frank Black can be, and we are shown how easily his singing voice can be replaced by a trombone."
- Slug Magazine



1. "Mrs. Carradine" (6:14)
2. "No More Room" (3:37)
3. "Wide" (3:49)
4. "Don't I Know" (4:00)
5. "Lorelei and Henry" (4:06)
6. "Shiloh" (3:22)
7. "Esophagus" (2:24)
8. "Old Dominion" (3:43)
9. "ProgJenny" (4:45)
10. "Cavalry" (3:32)
11. "Where Is My Mind?" (4:09)
12. "Don't Know Why (Bonus Track)" (4:21)

See more items by:
Alice Donut

Alice Donut

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles