Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
Live At Oslo Jazz Festival
virus374 (2007) CD - $8.00 ($12.00 list)
Originally released by Swedish jazz imprint Moserobie in 2003, this live album features a special one-time performance of Swedish political punk band The (International) Noise Conspiracy in collaboration with noted jazz musicians Jonas Kullhammar and Sven-Erik Dahlberg. These collaborators transform songs from T(I)NC's 1st 2 albums on Epitaph, "Survival Sickness" and "A New Morning, Changing Weather," into more dreamy arrangements. Jonas Kullhammar (a five-time Swedish Grammy nominee) and Sven-Erik Dahlberg are accomplished jazz musicians. The band's patented MC5-for-the-new-millenium political/musical attack mixes seamlessly with the 2 jazzmen's hot chops, resulting in some free improvisation and spaced-out jams- that all still Rock!

"Live at Oslo Jazz Festival" demonstrates T(I)NC's willingness to take risks and collaborate with musicians practicing different genres to expand their sound successfully. Long sought after by jazz, rock, and punk fans alike, "Live At Oslo Jazz Festival" is finally available on this side of the Atlantic!

The (International) Noise Conspiracy is a garage rock band with punk rock influences, consisting of Dennis Lyxzén (vocals), Inge Johansson (bass), Lars Strömberg (guitar), and Ludwig Dahlberg (drums). Dennis formed T(I)NC almost immediately after the break up of his former band, Refused. The band wanted to achieve an ideal blend of music and politics that was, "a cross between Elvis Presley and Che Guevara." According to the liner notes of their debut album, The First Conspiracy, the band wanted to combat music's function as spectacle. [This is a concept taken from Guy Debord's "The Society of the Spectacle."] There is much fanfare about the band's Marxist ideology and position as communists, a label they in fact give themselves. However, they don't belong to Stalinist or other traditional socialist positions and are politically opposed to hierarchy and the state. Much of their images, and writings reflect situationist, left communist, and anarchist political positions and influences.

"Since its release in 2003, Live at the Oslo Jazz Festival has been available only as a high-priced import here in the United States. Alternative Tentacles now, after 4 years, brings us this live masterpiece here at home. This gig was a one-time only performance and collaboration with two well-known jazz musicians: Jonas Kullhammar, and Sven-erik Dahlberg. The arrangements found on this live album are obviously different from their first two albums on Epitaph, as they have incorporated these two fantastic musicians, and it really pays off."
- Heathen Harvest

"As much as I like to maintain a professional demeanor when writing published reviews, I think it's necessary to dip into a little personal assertion for a moment regarding my thoughts on this album. I would rate myself as a moderate fan of the (International) Noise Conspiracy. I have two of their albums, and have only been mildly impressed with anything they've ever done. That said, Live at Oslo Jazz Festival is one of the most fantastic and entertaining live albums I've heard since Dillinger Four's Live at First Avenue.
The performance was recorded on August 6th, 2002 with established jazz musicians Jonas Kulhammer on saxophone and Sven-Eric Dahlberg on Fender Rhodes, a type of electric piano. It is with the addition of these musicians and their respective instruments that turns the otherwise inert garage rock of the original songs into a lively, flourishing makeup of jazz, soul, garage, and punk. It's truly incredible to think about how much an improvement the performance is over any of T(I)NC's studio work. Frontman Dennis Lyxzen gives an impassioned effort that holds steady through the nearly 60 minutes of music. In between songs, the listener is reminded that although T(I)NC write their songs in English, Lyxzen has essentially been writing lyrics in a foreign language since breaking the punk scene wide open as frontman of hardcore innovators Refused, and he continues to do so with T(I)NC.
Bubbling with improvisation and spontaneous melodies, the performance hits its peak with the 13-minute long rendition of "Will It Ever Be Quiet," which nearly answers its own question before breaking into a finale of incredible saxophone soloing. Fan favorites like "Capitalism Stole My Virginity," "New Empire Blues" and "Ever Felt Cheated" are all included, as well as a superb version of "Bigger Cages, Longer Chains."
Live at Oslo Jazz Festival shows just what live music is about. Energy, spontaneity, and creativity put a new and improved spin on some of the (International) Noise Conspiracy's best songs, and the result is a truly memorable experience that stays fresh long after the first listen."

"Europeans are a bit more open in their definition of jazz. This is basically the Conpiracy rocking out with a sax and a Fender Rhodes. Kullhammar and Dahlberg are front and center in the sound, and their additions are impressive. Makes me wonder if there isn't a studio effort in the works with these folks. Pretty damned cool!"
- Aiding and Abetting

"Featuring jazz musicians Jonas Kullhammar and Sven-Eric Dahlberg along with the (International) Noise Conspiracy at the Oslo Jazz Festival, this live album was originally released on a Swedish jazz imprint label known as Moserobie some four years. Songs from the catalog of the group were turned into eclectic free-form jams and shows how daring and different this indie punk rock band truly is. Most know this band because it was born from Refused's untimely demise, but once you hear how progressive and amazingly talented these musicians are, these political punks will make a new name for themselves. Thankfully our friends at Alternative Tentacles re-released this album so that us cats on this side of the pond could pick it up."
- Smother



1. "New Empire Blues" (4:05)
listen to "New Empire Blues"   MP3 (3.8 MB)
2. "Bigger Cages Longer Chains" (3:38)
listen to "Bigger Cages Longer Chains"   MP3 (3.3 MB)
3. "Born Into A Mess" (7:25)
4. "Smash It Up" (5:03)
5. "Survival Sickness" (6:38)
6. "Capitalism Stole My Virginity" (3:28)
listen to "Capitalism Stole My Virginity"   MP3 (3.2 MB)
7. "A Body Treatise" (4:43)
listen to "A Body Treatise"   MP3 (4.3 MB)
8. "Bodyheat" (5:15)
9. "Will It Ever Be Quiet" (13:11)
10. "Ever Felt Cheated" (4:09)

The (International) Noise Conspiracy

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles