Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
AT CD/VinylOther CD/VinylClothingBooksDVD/VideoOtherSale
Subscribe to the AT newsletter:
New Dark Age Parade
virus366 (2006) CD - $12.00 | LP - $12.00 - temp. unavailable
iTunes emusic Bandcamp
In Canada's glorious punk history, few embodied the greatness of the 1978-82 era like The Subhumans (not to be confused with the UK Subhumans). This titan of Vancouver punk engaged with the burgeoning worldwide movement and shared stages with Black Flag, Dead Kennedys, and Bad Brains. They lived by their ideology, with one member's eventual involvement in an urban guerilla group, "Direct Action," leading to a lengthly jail term. Direct Action was active in the 1980s targeting facilities that posed serious threats to the environment and companies that directly contributed to the nuclear arms race, among others.

New Dark Age Parade, unleashes 14 new songs, the first written by original members Mike Graham, Brian Goble and Gerry Hannah since 1982! Joined by drummer Jon Card (SNFU/DOA), the new songs are every bit as dynamic, powerful, and poignant as the band's beloved early material. They rock out with seething intelligence and soulfulness. The sound is both classic and unique; Biafra says "you can tell who it is right away," and these guys have been around too long to bother imitating anyone else! Rather than rehashing the past, Subhumans forge ahead with compelling vitality. This is a new record by a veteran band that doesn't suck- it's fantastic and one of the best records released this year!

"It's like they never broke up. They jumped right back in with 14 tracks of political punk rock full of cynical critique of today's world... If you're a fan of early eighties punk and hardcore you'll love this LP... They're fun, bright, funny, and thoughtful. It's the perfect package!"
- Profane Existence

"One of the most respected old school punk bands from Canada have released "New Dark Age Parade" on Alternative Tentacles....Musician/Political Activist Gerry Hannah- who was involved with Direct Action and who spent 5 years in prison for his political beliefs... Gerry is back in the fold with a vengeance...Also back in the band is original members Mike Graham, Brian Gobble and they are joined by Jon Card (Personality Crisis, SNFU, DOA). This CD unleashes 14 new songs on this gem... For people who never witnessed a SUBHUMANS show live let me tell you it was never a dull night. The music had just the right amount of political content filled with comic overtones.. Rumor is that at one show they gave a couple a case of beer to have sex on stage... Jello Biafra was quoted as saying "You can tell who it is right away... these guys have been around way to long to bother imitating anyone else!"
Stand out tracks on this CD include "World At War" "Mindless Tough Guy Act", "Life Sure Can Suck" "Blood Seat and Beers" -fuck all 14 tracks kick major ass!!!!! In Canada this CD is available on G7 Welcoming Committee Records."
- Punk Globe Magazine

"Subhumans', New Dark Age Parade is not just another punk protest album. Gerry Hannah walked the walk by taking part in Direct Action protests in the 80's. This abrasive album begins with "World of War", a lament for the oppressed, hungry, unhappy and marginalized in society. "Celebrity" exposes a world where: "There's no such thing as society and all the rules are set up for me."
Subhumans pull no punches with lyrics describing the lives of the beat down that make up the majority of humanity. "Shut Your Eyes" reminds us "Silence is violence. Swallow hard and hold your tongue. Evil purpose will be done. In silence, your silence is killing as I speak." Most of the album is straightforward punk, but "Clash of Intransigents" sounds like Ireland's The Pogues with electric guitars.
Then there's "Moving Forward", which begins with a slow grunge intro which explodes into a speedy punk rocker. The song rattles off a catalog of former U.S. allies including Suharto, Shah of Iran, Pinochet, Mobutu, Pol Pot, Noriega, Hussein and Bin Laden. These guys make inciting songs that are a more apt representation of foreign policy than most of mainstream media.
Subhumans, who've been around since the 70's epitomize Canadian punk and New Dark Age Parade will excite activists and all other fans of truth."
- Delusions of Adequacy



1. "World at War" (4:01)
2. "Celebrity" (3:24)
3. "People of the Plague" (2:50)
4. "Mindless Tough Guy Act" (2:43)
5. "Shut Your Eyes" (3:29)
6. "Clash of the Intrasigents" (4:11)
7. "Moving Forward" (2:29)
8. "Daisy Cutter" (3:14)
9. "Nowhere to Run Anymore" (4:06)
10. "Life Sure Can Suck" (3:32)
11. "In Good Company" (3:52)
12. "Blood, Sweat and Beers" (1:53)
13. "I Got Religion" (2:57)
14. "Modern Business" (3:36)

See more items by:
The Subhumans

The Subhumans

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles